Atlantic area programme logo

Interreg Atlantic Area

3rd March 2023
Atlantic Area 2021-2027 - First Call for Projects 2022
translate need translation with this page?
This dropdown can help you to translate automatically the website into other language. These translations are created automatically by Google so please note that they might not be accurate.


A brand new programme, renewed commitment with the Atlantic regions

The Interreg Atlantic Area 2021-2027 was formally approved by the European Commission on the 8th of September 2022. The design and development of this new programme started in 2020 by a Task Force composed by representatives of four countries – Portugal, Spain, France and Ireland – the Managing Authority, the Joint Secretariat and the European Commission.

With a new Interreg Atlantic Area Programme, we renew the commitment with the Atlantic regions in the support of innovative initiatives that contribute to the growth of this area, solving common challenges across border through the implementation of joint actions, exchange of good practices and contribution to new or current policies.

Programme objectives

The programme supports cooperation in the four thematic priorities and eight specific objectives, based on the outcomes of the territorial analysis:

1. Blue innovation and competitiveness (Smarter Europe)

1.1 Developing and enhancing research and innovation capacities and the uptake of advanced  technologies

1.2 Reaping the benefits of digitalisation for citizens, companies, research organisation and public authoritities

2. Blue and green environment (Greener Europe)

2.1 Promoting energy efficiency and reducing greenhouse gas emissions

2.2 Promoting climate change adaptation and disaster risk prevention, resilience, taking into account eco-system-based approaches

2.3 Promoting the transition to a circular and resource efficient economy

2.4 Enhancing protection and preservation of nature, biodiversity and green infrastructure, including in urban areas, and reducing all forms of pollution

3. Blue sustainable tourism and culture (Social Europe)

3.1 Enhancing the role of culture and tourism in economic development, social inclusion and social innovation

4. A better governance for cooperation (Interreg objective)


The programme budget for 2021-2027 is of EUR 113 million from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

The co-financing rate for projects approved is up to 75% of the total investment.

Who can benefit from funding?

The Atlantic Area community is made of business support organisations, social enterprises, third sector organisations, public authorities, education and training organisations, environmental protection agencies, local communities, civil society clusters, universities, upper education bodies and research/innovation institutions.

The Atlantic regions

As in the previous programme, the Atlantic Area 2021-2027 covers the western part of the Atlantic Ocean and includes all regions of Ireland and Portugal, as well as several French and Spanish regions close to or on the Atlantic Ocean coast. The total list of elegible regions is as follows:

España: País Vasco; Navarra; La Rioja; Cantabria; Principado de Asturias; Galicia; Andalucía; Islas Canarias.

France: Bretagne; Normandie; Nouvelle-Aquitaine; Pays-de-la-Loire.

Ireland: Northern and Western; Southern; Eastern and Midland.

Portugal: Norte; Algarve; Centro; Lisboa; Alentejo; Região Autónoma das Açores; Região Autónoma de Madeira.

Share this article


  • +351 226 086 300
  • Office address:
    Rua do Campo Alegre, 276 - 2º Floor Right
    4150-169 Porto, Portugal

    Postal address:
    Comissão de Coordenação e Desenvolvimento Regional do Norte (CCDR-N)
    Rua Rainha D. Estefânia, 251
    4150-034 Porto, Portugal

  • Comissão de Coordenação e Desenvolvimento Regional do Norte (CCDR-N)

  • +351 226 086 300
  • Rua Rainha D. Estefânia, 251
    4150-034 Porto, Portugal
Website developed by COBIANZO COMMUNICATON LTD. M1 2JQ