Interreg España - Portugal programme logo 21-27

Interreg POCTEP (Spain – Portugal)

translate need translation with this page?
This dropdown can help you to translate automatically the website into other language. These translations are created automatically by Google so please note that they might not be accurate.


What is POCTEP?

POCTEP is a programme that promotes cross-border development and cooperation between Spain and Portugal, funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). The acronym stands for “Programa Operativo de Cooperación Transfronteriza España-Portugal” (Operational Programme for Cross-Border Cooperation Spain-Portugal) during the period 2007-2013, and later renamed “Programa de Cooperación Interreg España-Portugal” (Interreg Cooperation Program Spain-Portugal) for the period 2014-2020.

The Interreg Spain-Portugal Programme (POCTEP) 2021-2027 is the largest cross-border cooperation programme in the EU, with a total allocation of 427 million euros (299 million euros from the ERDF for projects). It has been developed by the member states of Spain and Portugal to address key challenges in the border area between the two countries.

The programme takes into account the current situation in the cooperation area, strategic references, principles of multi-level partnership and governance, and the results of the strategic environmental assessment in its formulation.

What is the cooperation area?

The Interreg Spain-Portugal Cross-Border Cooperation Programme (POCTEP) 2021-2027 is focused on the border between Spain and Portugal, which stretches for a total of 1,234 km, making it one of the longest in Europe.

Considering the specific characteristics of each territory, their historical trajectory, and the successful outcomes achieved, the programme will continue to be organised around the 6 Cooperation Areas and 36 NUT III regions that have shaped the territory in previous programmes:

AC1: Galicia / Northern Portugal
AC2: Northern Portugal / Castilla y León
AC3: Castilla y León / Central Portugal
AC4: Central / Extremadura / Alentejo
AC5: Alentejo / Algarve / Andalusia
AC6: Pluriregional

These areas serve as the framework for cooperation efforts and collaboration between regions on both sides of the border.

Share this article


  • Agência para o Desenvolvimento e Coesão, I.P. (Agência, I.P.)

  • +351 218 814 000
  • Av. 5 de Outubro, n.º 153
    1050-053 | Lisboa
  • Ministerio de Hacienda. Dirección General de Fondos Europeos

  • +34 91 583 51 40
  • Paseo de la Castellana, 162
    28071 | Madrid
  • Extremadura

  • Dirección General de Financiación Autonómica y Fondos Europeos. Consejería de Administración Pública y Hacienda
    Paseo de Roma, s/n. Módulo B
    06800 | Mérida (Badajoz)
Website developed by COBIANZO COMMUNICATON LTD. M1 2JQ